paris apartments in paris vacation rentals parisbestlodge

Chapelle Rodin
Re-opening : La sculpture et son socle

Chapelle Rodin, Musée Rodin, 75007, until 7 february 2006.

chapelle rodin musee rodin paris

This old vault contiguous to the Rodin Museum is old an appendix of the Hotel of Biron.  In 1874, the Congregation of Crowned Heart of Jesus, owner of the places, engaged the construction of this vault in a neo-gothic style very trendy at this time. Rodin will buy the whole place in 1908 then will bequeath it to its death to the French state.  Today still, the places, the hotel and the garden, keep preserving a rare serenity in Paris.  The vault re-open today after a complete restoration directed by the architect Pierre-Louis Faloci since 1999.  A new roof of glass, natural light for public spaces, the creation of an auditorium of 90 places inside the basement, make vault a true independent place of exhibition, of 5000 square meters on seven floors.  It should accommodate two great temporary exhibition every two years.  The inaugural exhibition relates to the report/ratio of the sculpture to its base and its essential valorization in space. Taking up the idea of 1913 that photography reports to us opposite, famous Bourgeois of Calais is high with four meters of the ground, on a scaffolding.  Beyond Rodin, this topic of the base is declined through sculptures of several different Masters:  Giacometti, Bourdelle, Louise Bourgeois, Brancusi.

event of the month in ParisInternet cable unlimited high speed connection mapMap of the Metro- Parisian SubwayWeather and Temperature in Paris10 excellent reasons to discover le Marais in your lifeguide of saint-germain des presGetting to paris from the aiport roissy charles de gaulle