paris apartments for rent vacation rentals in paris

Renovation de l'Orangerie des Tuileries
Monet Les Nympheas

orangerie des tuileries monet nympheas
The prestigious room of the Nympheas of the Orangery of Tuileries had been closed for 6 years for a deep restoration.  It will re-open to the public on May 17, 2006.  We will be able to contemplate the absolute masterpiece of Monet again there, the immense panels of Nymphéas.  The complete ex collection Walter Guillaume will be presented there to the public : 144 prestigious works signed Renoir, Derain, Cézanne, Picasso, Soutine, Modigliani.  Built in 1852 but transformed into museum in 1927, this gallery of the Orangery now doubles the surface of its basements.  For a budget of 29 million Euros, the purpose was erasing the poor former adjustments of the Sixties which had quite simply deprived of natural light the immense fresco of Monet.  Monumental work when we know that it is 100 meters long.  100 meters of artificial light to develop the Master of the sun :  A design mistake when one thinks about that today.  For now, the two elliptic rooms designed and offered to France by the artist himself after the victory of 1918, are capped giant cones, lamp-shade natural which allow in the light of making play its diurnal variations.  As in their small pond of Giverny, Nympheas change colour and contrasts to the liking of the hours of the day and the seasons.  A natural variation in perpetual change.  The varnish of the fresco, which displeased in Monet, was even withdrawn during the restoration.  The collection Walter Guillaume is entirely hung in the basements of the Gallery.

event of the month in ParisInternet cable unlimited high speed connection mapMap of the Metro- Parisian SubwayWeather and Temperature in Paris10 excellent reasons to discover le Marais in your lifeguide of saint-germain des presGetting to paris from the aiport roissy charles de gaulle